The official 2017 hurricane season starts today, and so do the familiar-but-important reminders of what all South Florida residents need to know about preparing for a storm.
Starting Friday morning, Floridians stocking up on qualifying disaster-preparedness supplies can save money by not having to pay a state sales tax. Passed by the Florida Legislature and signed into law by Governor Rick Scott, the 2017 Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday starts at 12:01 a.m., Friday, June 2, and ends at 11:59 p.m., Sunday, June 4. Qualifying items, from reusable ice packs selling for $10 or less to portable generators selling for $750 or less, will be exempt from state sales taxes. Click here for the full list  of qualifying items.
“From powerful thunderstorms and tornadoes, to tropical storms and hurricanes, Florida experiences a range of potentially dangerous weather throughout summer and fall,” said Leon Biegalski, executive director of the Florida Department of Revenue. “We encourage Floridians to participate in this sales tax holiday as being proactive is in the best interest of their safety.”
For a useful list of necessary hurricane preparedness supplies, check out our infographic below.
Infographic by Irina de Souza